KIMBALL TOWERS HISTORY
Kimball Towers - once the renowned Hotel Kimball - has
a unique place in Springfield's history. Built by William Kimball, a
successful Springfield businessman, the Hotel Kimball formally opened
on St. Patrick's Day in 1911.
The Kimball was splendid in every phase of its construction and fitting.
Solid mahogany floors and chairs with upholstery of hand tooled-leather,
bearing the Kimball coat-of-arms, were only part of its elegance. Among
its guests were U.S. Presidents, kings, wealthy American industrialists,
and stage, screen, and radio stars.
Built in what was the affluent residential neighborhood of Chestnut
and Bridge Streets, the Kimball offered 309 rooms, a dining-room capacity
for 450, a 22-foot-high banquet hall for 350 guests, and, in 1912, room
rates from "$1.50 to $3.50 per day".
Proms, wedding receptions, conventions, balls, and weekly Rotary and
Kiwanis meetings kept Kimball facilities fully booked. For years, radio
programs were broadcast from its Westinghouse WBZ studios.
Difficulties after World War II, with a decrease in train travel and
the rise of motels to accommodate highway travelers, gradually closed
the hotel, banquet, and office services.
The building changed hands several times between 1964 and 1980; was
renovated into residential apartments, and renamed Kimball Towers.
In 1985, the building was again renovated and converted to residential
and commercial condominium. (Excerpted from Springfield Journal, February